Muay Thai in the Movies: Only God Forgives

Muay Thai in the Movies: Only God Forgives

In a recent interview, Ryan Gosling expressed a desire to step away from acting for a little while, stating, “I’ve been doing it too much… I’ve lost perspective on what I’m doing. I think it’s good for me to take a break and reassess why I’m doing it and how I’m doing it. And I think this is probably a good way to learn about that. I need a break from myself as much as I imagine the audience does.”

I am fully supportive of anyone who wants to pursue a Vision Quest, but I’d also like to point out that thankfully Ryan made this decision after filming already wrapped for ‘Only God Forgives,’ which reunited him with ‘Drive’ director, Nicolas Winding Refn.  Ryan plays a British gangster running a Muay Thai boxing club in Bangkok whose brother is murdered, and is then forced to wreak violent vengeance on the killer. Oh, yes. ‘Drive’ + Muay Thai = 100% WIN.  I was even more excited when I found out that the cinematographer for this movie was Larry Smith, who shot ‘Bronson’ and pretty much guarantees that even if this movie is cheesy and sucks, I am still going to love it.  Is it too much to hope that there will be a full-on elbow throwing brawl ending with a face teep KO in an elevator?

UPDATE: New trailer just released!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEFCN4qaYt4&feature=player_embedded

Leave a Reply

